Panola College students selected to All Texas Academic Team


From left, Hieu Le of Marshall and Nash Coultas of Carthage will be honored as members of the Phi Theta Kappa All Texas Academic Team in a ceremony at the University of Texas at Dallas.

Panola College students Nash Coultas and Hieu Le have been named to the All Texas Academic Team for Phi Theta Kappa, the national honor society for community college students. Both will be recognized at a ceremony and reception at The University of Texas at Dallas on Wednesday, April 1.

Coultas is from Carthage. In addition to Phi Theta Kappa, Coultas was involved in the history club, Student Government Association, and Green Jackets. He plans to continue his education at Stephen F. Austin State University where he will major in business management and join the Army ROTC.

“Upon graduation from SFA, I will become a lieutenant in the U.S. Army. I am patriotic for my country, and this has been my goal since second grade. Being adopted from China made me appreciate America even more. I can’t take the freedom and opportunities that America has to offer for granted,” Coultas said.

Le, from Marshall, graduated from Panola College and is now working on bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering at LeTourneau University.

While at Panola, Le was the president of the International Student Club, participated in community support activities including Clean Up Carthage and a volunteer project for Mission Carthage. Now at LeTourneau University, he is a member of IEEE for the electrical engineering competition team, an active member of the graduate seminar and honor student team.

Panola College Phi Theta Kappa faculty advisors nominated Coultas and Le, and they were among 100 outstanding students selected from 50 Texas community college districts.

“Members of the All Texas Academic Team represent the best and brightest students who excel in academics, leadership, and service,” said Emily Zabcik, faculty sponsor. “We at Panola are so proud of this accomplishment. This is the first time in my 10 years that we have had students be awarded this honor. I cannot wait to see what these young men accomplish in the future.”

Phi Theta Kappa faculty sponsors are math professors Zabcik, Roberta Collinsworth and Chasity Klingler.