NIRA names Panola College ‘Rodeo of the Year’


The NIRA Southern Region team members voted Panola College as Rodeo of the Year for 2019-2020.

The National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association announced on Thursday, April 2, that Panola College was named as the Southern Region Rodeo of the Year.

“The season ended short, unfortunately, for Panola,” said Coach Jeff Collins. “We are taking two athletes to the college national finals rodeo – Logan Cook in the saddle bronc riding, and Clayton Lowry in team roping.”

Collins said being named Rodeo of the Year for the Southern Region is quite an honor. “It was voted on by all the NIRA students. Our team did an outstanding job of putting on the rodeo in September, and I am very proud of them for that, and for all their actions this season. I expect great things for next year,” he said.

NIRA Southern Region Rodeo had to cancel the final two rodeos of the season as a result of the coronavirus crisis. Standings for the year will be based on the Texas A&M Rodeo held earlier in the spring.

Panola College 2019-2020 Rodeo Team roster includes Cole Bailey, Marshall; Mckynzie Bush, Center; Trace Clark, Center; Michael Mathis Coley, Ringgold, Ga.; Logan Cook, Alto; Madison Davis, Carthage; Maison Davis, Kilgore; Skylar Dawson, Beckville; Michael Deshotels, Cleveland; Peter Fager, Peculiar, Mo.; Bradford Fisher, Liberty; Hannah Goings, Arlington, Ga.; Garrett Golliher, Stoutland, Mo.; Jadyn Gould, Lufkin; Evan Green, Lufkin; Blake Griffin, Center; Isaac Ingram, Basile, La.; Clayton Lowry, Wills Point; Katherine Mackenzie, Grand Prairie; Mackenzie Moore, Camdenton, Mo.; Abbie Muckelroy, Center; Macon Murphy, Keatchie, La.; Rowdy Murray, Marietta; Chance Pruitt, Jasper, Ark.; Emily Ramsey, Marshall; Chase Runfola, Gainesville, N.Y.; Seth Rustin, Nacogdoches; J.D. Spivey, Haslet; Tanzi Stafford, Gonzales; Abbie Suggs, Kirbyville; Daylon Swearingen, Piffard, N.Y.; Kalie Vaughn, Center; Rylee Vines, Lufkin; Samuel Wigans, Goldfield, Iowa; and Michael Womack, Bastrop, La.