Honor students join PTK

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

Panola College inducted new members into the Pi Beta Chapter of the national Phi Theta Kappa honor society on Thursday, March 21, in the Frances B. Ross Ballroom of the Charles C. Matthews Foundation Student Center.

Stephen K. Williams, Carthage City Manager, provided the keynote address, advising students to “always strive for excellence.” A PTK member himself, Williams encouraged students to choose their career paths carefully.

“Make sure you can get a job when you get out of college. Panola College is a good place to start your academic career or your working career,” he said. “You also need to give back to your profession and your community through volunteer involvement.”

Emily Zabcik, professor of mathematics and Pi Beta advisor, welcomed attendees, and the Panola Pipers, under the direction of Sandra Bauer, professor of vocal music and choir director, performed two songs. Assisting with the induction were Roberta Collinsworth, professor of math and PTK advisor, and Mitchell Fountain, PTK member.

The Pi Beta chapter is a long standing club at Panola College. Members may attend monthly meetings, and participate in community service projects coordinated by the club. To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa membership, Panola College students must maintain a GPA of 3.5 or above and have completed a minimum of 12 transferable hours through Panola College.

New inductees for spring 2019 include Mason Campbell, Beckville; John Carter, Waskom; Yvonne Combs, Keithville; Nash Coultas, Carthage; Imani Hampton, Lilburn, Ga.; Esther Hernandez, Carthage; Hieu Le, Marshall; Lucero Luna, Tatum; Milagros Luna, Joaquin; Rebecca Mathis, Tenaha; Taylor Mills, Carthage; Keiler Norman, Carthage; Chailey Norton, Mt. Enterprise; Calicia Roland, Tenaha; Jazmin Uriostegui, Center, Rebecca Weatherford, Henderson, Leneve Williams, Marshall; Jeremy Dean, Beckville; Virginia Gentry, Carthage; Madelyn Haden, Tatum; Tyler Herndon, Center; Challenge Leonard, Marshall; Blaine Parker, Longview; Abigail Parrish, Nacogdoches; Julia Prewitt, Joaquin; and Cameron Stansbury, Groves.

Phi Theta Kappa was formed in 1918 by Missouri two-year college presidents. Today Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more that 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located in the 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, and Germany.

Phi Theta Kappa members are eligible for more than $37 million in transfer scholarship opportunities. Some scholarships offered by local schools include a $11,000 per academic year scholarship through East Texas Baptist University, a $3,000 scholarship at LeTourneau University, and a $1,500 scholarship at UT Tyler.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email