Fall Commencement set Thursday, Dec. 14


This photo is from the Spring 2017 Commencement. Watch the Pony Express for photos from Fall 2017 Commencement. Two ceremonies are scheduled for Thursday, Dec. 15.

Panola College will hold two Fall 2017 Commencement ceremonies on Thursday, Dec. 14, in the A.J. Johnson Gymnasium. Approximately 70 students will participate in the first Commencement, beginning at 5 p.m. A second ceremony for an additional 60 graduates will begin at 7:30 p.m.

In both ceremonies, Dr. Billy Adams, Vice President of Instruction, will present the graduating class. Sandra Bauer, music professor, will lead singers from the Music Department in The Alma Mater. Don Cocklin, psychology professor, will give the invocation. Dr. Adams will provide opening remarks and introduce the Panola College Board of Trustees. Dr. Greg Powell, Panola College President, will welcome guests and confer degrees and certificates. Earnest Spencer, School of Energy professor, will provide the benediction.

Dr. Kathy Watlington, foreign language professor, will read the names of the graduates. Participating in the pinning for health science graduates will be Ashley Brewster, RN, Associate Degree Nursing professor; Sharon Peace, RN, Vocational Nursing instructor; Lynn Davis, RHIT, CCS, chair-instructor, Medical Assistant program; and JoEllen Russell, MBA, MT, RHIT, RMA, chair-professor, Medical Lab Technician and Health Information Technician.

For Fall 2017 graduation, 209 students qualified by earning degrees or certificates. Among those candidates, 152 are female and 57 are male, 198 are from Texas, nine from Louisiana, one from Arkansas, and one from Nigeria.

Degrees and certificates to be awarded include 100 certificates of completion, 68 associate of applied science degrees, 61 associate of science degrees, and eight associate of arts in teaching.

“These numbers are from our last tally on November 29, and may change slightly by December 14,” said Jeremy Dorman, Panola College Registrar. “We congratulate all our Fall 2017 graduates.”