• Panola College Drama's production of The Exonerated brought home 20 awards from the TCCSTA State Play Festival held at LCS-Kingwood this past week. Superior Production Trophy, Kyree Williams, Sophomore, was awarded the Bill Morton Acting Challenge Award (best actor), Avery Tindol, Superior-Acting, Darian Upshaw and Carenza Johnson, Excellence in Acting, The following students were awarded a Director's Superior in the following Technical areas, Ben Charrez,Stage Mangement, Mariah Fulbright, Assistant Directing, Christin Lindgren, Dramaturgy and Lobby Design, Alex Dutton, Lighting Design, Laura "Alfy" Lindsey, Sound Design, Keelan Moses, Costume Design, Nicole Cassell, Make-up Design Kaycee Ricketson, Scene Design, Ethan Xiu, Projection Design. Receiving the Respondents Award for Excellence in Tech were Kaycee Ricketson for Scene Design and Shadow Play Design, Ethan Xiu for Projection Design, Dewey Brannan III for Scrim Lighting Design. Panolal College's entire cast and crew received the Honor Crew award as well. PC Drama Director Karen King said, "I am so proud of these students. At the end of our production as the house went dark for the curtain call, the entire audience rose to their feet as one to give a standing ovation. It was an incredible moment for our students!" March 2, 2015

Panola drama production earns Superior rating

Panola College’s Drama Department was recognized with a Superior Award for their production of Rashomon at the Texas Community College Speech and Theatre Association’s 2014 Play Festival held at Blinn College, Feb. 24-28.

In addition to the Superior award, Panola Drama students were recognized with 25 individual awards.

Receiving a Superior in Acting were: Ozvaldo Cabral for his role as Tajamoru, for their role as the Koken – Hannah Hoover, Carnelius Lewis, Josue Ramirez, Kenny Richard, Kyree Williams, Jacob Woolf, Ethan Xieu, and Peter Zarate IV.  Receiving an Excellence in Acting were Alex Ford as the wife, and Avery Tindol as the Samurai.

Receiving the Director’s Choice award in areas of Technical Theatre are:  Kate Morton for Stage Management and Scene Design; Hannah Hoover, Costume Design; Jordan Vaughn, Lighting Design; Claire Beasley, Make-Up Design; Christin Lindgren and Alex Ford, Dramaturgy, and Ethan Xieu, Fight Direction.

Receiving the Judge’s Award in areas of Technical Theatre are: Kate Morton for Stage Management and Scene Design; Hannah Hoover, Costume Design; Jordan Vaughn, Lighting Design; Claire Beasley, Make-Up Design, and Ethan Xieu, Fight Direction.

The overall performance rating of Superior is granted to: Zach Barlow, Claire Beasely, Ozvaldo Cabral, Alex Ford, Mariah Fulbright, Cody Gibbs, Hannah Hoover, Houston Hubler, Carnelius Lewis, Christin Lindgren, Kate Morton,Matthew Odom, Josue Ramirez, Kenny Richard, Callie Rosson, T.J. Rushing, Avery Tindol, Jordan Vaughn, Kyree Williams, Jacob Woolf, Ethan Xieu, and Peter Zarate IV.

Print Friendly